About Eddy

Hey there! My name is Eddy Edgar, and my pronouns are he/him/his. I'm an illustrative designer and musician who started Citizen A Design in the summer of 2011. I live and work in Hamilton, Ontario with the love of my life — Anna — and our fluffy, grey, cat named Ollie. For over 10 years I’ve had the opportunity to consult and collaborate with private and public sector clients in Canada and the US on hundreds of projects.

Publications & Press

My illustrative design work has been published by Rough Trade Records and featured in The Guardian, Huffington Post, NME, Rolling Stone, Pitchfork, Bitch, Bust, Curve Magazine, and many others. My photography has been published by Converse Play, the Hamilton Spectator, and Hamilton's VIEW Magazine.

It's worth noting that a significant amount of my work has been credited online to my former name - Amber Edgar.

Ethos & Focus

I feel most compelled to work with individuals and organizations whose life work is dedicated to pushing the status quo when it comes to arts and entertainment, healthcare, climate change initiatives, and issues involving human rights.

Specifically, I work best with individuals and brands who care about the following:

  • Renewable energy initiatives and green tech innovation

  • LGBTQAI2+ communities with a focus on solidarity with BIPOC

  • Protecting and improving human rights for women + girls

  • Advocating for the rights of people with disabilities

  • Providing data informed, health care to patients and clients

  • ‘Mental’ health advocacy, and neuroscience research

Feminist Playing Cards

A career highlight for me has been my involvement with the Feminist Playing Cards project which was created by Homoground. Feminist Playing Cards launched a Kickstarter campaign in March 2012 which successfully surpassed its $12,000 goal. The cards were created to provide a unique and fun way of preserving a part of history that is often overlooked and undocumented.

Feminist Playing Cards went onto be featured in “Let’s Start a Pussy Riot“, a comprehensive book - published by Rough Trade Records. The book has been created in collaboration with members of Pussy Riot and links together the events leading up to and after the group’s arrest and the themes that these courageous women fight for – feminism, LGBTQ rights, freedom of speech and environmental activism. Contributors include Judy Chicago, Jón Gnarr, Antony Hegarty, Bianca Casady, Sarah Lucas, Bobby Conn, Robyn, Kim Gordon, Lucky Dragons, Billy Childish, Jeffrey Lewis and many more. 

The book was launched at Yoko Ono's Meltdown Festival which took place in London, 2013 and featured artists such as Amadeus Leopold, Sean Lennon, Iggy and the Stooges, Savages, Siouxsie and the Banshees, Ryuichi Sakamoto and Alva Noto.